How to harvest marigold seeds

Marigold-seeds-Canopy-of-Colour

Marigolds have become one of my favourite little flowers. Not because I love orange, or because they’re cute, but because they are a god send when it comes to keeping pests away from an organic garden.

One of the biggest problems I face is keeping away the bad bugs that want to munch on everything I grow. Marigolds have quite a pungent smell, which tends to act as a repellant for many bugs, so by planting them in and around the garden, they help deter pests. Plus they’re considered to have a low pollen level, which is always a plus for anyone who suffers hayfever.

This year I’ve harvested the seeds, so I can grow them myself rather than spend a fortune on buying seedlings, so thought I’d share how this is done.

With marigolds, the seeds come after the flower heads die. Once a flower dies, it’ll start drying out and turn brown (top left hand corner of picture). When it gets to this stage, simply pinch them off, and carefully extract the seeds from the inside. You can peel the top open, however I prefer squeezing from the bottom and letting them all pop out.

You should end up with a heap of seeds (see front of pic). Which is great, because it’s likely that not all will germinate.

Happy harvesting.

2 thoughts on “How to harvest marigold seeds

    • Hi, I’m actually doing both. Where I live, it’s now Autumn, and starting to get pretty cool, so it may be too late for me to be planting more, but I thought I’d see how I go. Sometimes if it’s not too cold a winter, they’ll be okay. My seeds are just starting to germinate now. With the ones I’m keeping, I’ve just got them in an envelope in a cool dry place with all my other seeds. I’ll start growing them towards the end of winter so they’re ready for spring.

your thoughts...

